Can You Get Jail Time for Your First DWI/DUI in Missouri?

One of the most frightening parts of getting a DUI/DWI in Missouri is that you may not know what the consequences of a conviction will be. You might be especially worried, that in additions to fines, a mar on your record, and driving restrictions, you may also have to spend time in jail. 

But can you get jail time for your very first driving while intoxicated offensive in Missouri? 

First Offense DWI Consequences In Missouri 

Not all DWIs are alike, and the punishment for one DWI may be different from another. But in most cases, a first offense DWI in Missouri results in: 

  • A Class B Misdemeanor Offense
  • A $500 fine. 
  • A 90-day license suspension. 
  • Up to six months in jail. 

However, it’s important to know that receiving a jail sentence, especially one of up to six months, is extremely rare. It may only happen in conjunction with other details of the case. Your first offense DWI could be considered a felony if people were killed or injured in a wreck you caused, and that could result in much more significant jail times. 

Note, though that if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is significantly higher than the legal limit, you may face a short, mandatory jail stint. If your BAC is 0.15 or above, you must spend 48 hours in jail. If your BAC is above 0.20, you must spend five days in jail. 

Jail Time Increases With Each Offense 

Jail time become much more likely when you are convicted of subsequent DWIs. A second offense can come with up to a year in jail, while a third offense can result in up to two years in jail. After three offenses, those convicted could serve even more considerable sentences. 

Contact A DUI/DWI Attorney in Missouri Today

An experienced DWI attorney in St. Louis can make certain that your case is treated fairly in court. They will also ensure that you don’t incur more penalties than necessary based on the details of your arrest. They also know the steps to take to navigate the court system quickly and efficiently, so that you can return to your life and put this incident behind you as soon as possible. To learn more, get a copy of our FREE Missouri DWI Survival Guide.

If you would like to request a free consultation, please contact St. Louis DWI attorney, Grant Shostak today. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.