Will I Go to Jail for DWI in Missouri?
You Can Go to Jail for DWI in Missouri
If you are charged with a DWI, even a first offense, there is a real possibility of spending time in jail. The importance of hiring an experienced DWI attorney cannot be overstated! If charged with a DWI, seek an experienced attorney right away!
The penalties for a DWI conviction in Missouri are as follows:
- First offense: Class
B Misdemeanor (State Court or Municipal Court)
- State – up to 6 months jail and up to $1,000 fine
- Municipal – up to 90 days jail and up to $1,000 fine
offense: Class A Misdemeanor (State Court or Municipal
- State – up to 1 year in jail and up to $2,000 fine
- Municipal – up to 90 days in jail and up to $1,000 fine
- Third offense: Class
E Felony (State Court only)
- Up to 4 years in prison and up to $10,000 fine
- Fourth offense: Class
D Felony (State Court only)
- Up to 7 years in prison and up to $10,000 fine
We Can Help Keep You Out of Jail
The potential jail time you face will be enhanced if aggravating factors are present, such as property damage or injuries. Besides the potential for jail time, if convicted you will face other hardships, including financial and those related to your driving privileges. A strong defense is critical for you to obtain the best possible result, including an outright dismissal or reduction in charges.